Welcome to Park City! The Heart of Snow Country!

Higher Education

Higher education cin Utah

University of Utah (U of U)

The University of Utah is classified by the Carnegie Foundation as one of 50 Comprehensive Research I Universities from among 3,700 U.S. institutions. Founded in 1850, it is the oldest state university west of the Missouri River. The U of U is a leader in biotechnology research. Its accomplishments include the first successful artificial heart transplant, the discovery of the first gene linked to breast cancer, and a strong partnership with the Huntsman Cancer Institute.

Brigham Young University (BYU)

Established in 1875, Brigham Young University provides an education in an atmosphere consistent with the ideals and principles of its sponsor, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS). BYU is recognized for its extensive language programs, performing arts ensembles, sports programs, and devotion to combining solid scholarship with the principles of the LDS church. BYU is home to renowned graduate programs in Business and Law.

College of Eastern Utah (CEU)

The College of Eastern Utah is a two-year junior college. It offers more than 400 courses in 60 different areas of study. Students at CEU may obtain an Associate of Science, Associate of Applied Science, Associate of Arts, or a certificate of completion in many different areas. CEU also offers great transfer programs to four-year colleges and universities.

Dixie State College (DSC)

In 2000, due to substantial growth at Dixie State College, the Utah Legislature granted the college a Baccalaureate degree status and DSC went from a two-year to a four-year college.

Neumont University

Beginning with its first freshman class in 2004, Neumont University aims to educate the most sought-after software developers in the world. This new private university offers Bachelor of Science degrees in Computer Science, Master of Science degrees in Computer Science, and MBA’s in Enterprise Informatics. In partnership with IBM and Microsoft, its program places emphasis on students gaining fluency in WebSphere, .NET and Open Source development environments.

Salt Lake Community College (SLCC)

Salt Lake Community College is an accredited, student-focused urban multi-campus college. SLCC serves more than 60,000 students through credit and non-credit courses and workshops, making it the largest higher education institution in Utah. To accommodate student needs, SLCC has three full-service campuses, eight teaching centers located throughout the Salt Lake Valley, and an eCampus for distance learning.

Snow College

Originally founded in 1888 as an academy for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, this two-year college became a state institution in 1932. This residential campus, located in Ephraim, and its south campus, located in Richfield, offer primarily academic transfer programs and some applied technology programs. Snow College maintains the smallest freshman and sophomore class sizes in the state.

Southern Utah University (SUU)

Southern Utah University is working to add at least five new master’s programs by 2011. Its student body is comprised of students from 29 Utah counties, 45 U.S. states and 28 foreign countries.

University of Southern Nevada (USN)

The University of Southern Nevada has constructed a new 117,000-square-foot building in South Jordan to serve as a satellite campus for Utah residents. This private, non-profit university offers two program degrees: doctor of pharmacy and master of business administration.

Utah Valley University (UVU)

Utah Valley University, formerly Utah Valley State College, offers short-term training programs, training for high-tech careers, transfer degrees and bachelor’s degrees. Starting in 1941 as a vocational learning center for locals looking to gain better technical skills, UVU has since grown to become a four-year accredited university.

Utah State University (USU)

Established in 1888 as the Agricultural College of Utah, Utah State University has developed into a world-class institution of higher learning. USU continues to live up to its original ideal of educating rural citizens with distance-learning centers throughout the state. It also conducts groundbreaking research at its Logan campus. Through its partnership with NASA, USU is among world leaders in the number of experiments launched into space.

Weber State University (WSU)

Weber State University is a multi-campus university with extensions located in Utah and
Davis counties. WSU offers the largest, most comprehensive undergraduate programs in
the state. This university offers an array of distance learning, independent study, and
evening classes to meet the needs of its diverse student body.

Westminster College (WC)

Westminster College, founded in 1875, is a fully independent, privately funded, nondenominational, comprehensive liberal arts college. This institution for higher learning offers select graduate programs. Although small in comparison to the surrounding colleges and universities, WC has experienced tremendous growth leading to several campus expansions over the last couple of years. Source: Economic Development Corporation of Utah, www.edcutah.org


The University of Utah Continuing Education Department offers an extensive Lifelong Learning program that takes advantage of the recreational and historic opportunities in Park City. Since 1979, classes have been offered in the historic Park City library and various locations around town. Source: University of Utah: www.continue.utah.edu/lifelong


The Utah College of Applied Technology (UCAT) is a new concept in applied technology education. Consisting of ten Utah applied technology college campuses, UCAT provides opportunities for high quality, statewide, open-entry, open-exit, competency-based education. The campuses serve both high school and adult students.

Source: Park City Chamber & Visitors Bureau Education